| America History & Life | Dates: 1964 - present | | About | 6 user(s) may log on simultaneously. | Abstracts and citations of articles from journals (over 1700 titles are reviewed each year), plus dissertations, book and media reviews, and other materials about North American history (U.S. and Canada). |
| Historical Abstracts | Dates: 1955 - present | | About | 6 user(s) may log on simultaneously. | Abstracts and citations covering the history of the world (excluding U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, featuring articles from journals in more than 40 languages (over 1700 titles are reviewed each year), book reviews, and more. |
JSTOR  | Dates: Varies | Title List | | About | | (Full Text) JSTOR's Arts & Sciences Collections (I thru IV; Complement), plus the Health & General Sciences Collection, contain digitized back issues of over 500 scholarly journals in various humanities, social science, and general science disciplines. Coverage generally starts with the very first volume of a publication and includes issues as recent as 3-5 years ago. |
Project MUSE  | Dates: Varies | Title List | | About | | (Full Text) Accesses recent issues (1994+) of over 250 scholarly journals, plus a number of archived issues going as far back as the 19th century. Subject coverage includes political science, languages and literatures, history, and many more areas of the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
Humanities & Social Sciences  | Dates: 1907 - present | | About | | Full text (back to 1995) and indexing/abstracts (back to 1907) covering humanities topics (e.g., classical studies, literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion), as well as applied & theoretical aspects of various social sciences (social work, public administration, sociology, etc.). Over 1200 periodicals are represented. |
| L'Annee Philologique (APh Online) | Dates: 1949-2005 | | About | 10 user(s) may log on simultaneously. | Citations to publications in the classics and classical studies. Coverage includes Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, and Greek and Roman archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, and other aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world. |
Women and Social Movements  | Dates: 1600 - 2000 | Database User Guide | | About | | Full text access to documents that chronicle the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Books, pamphlets, journal articles, images, manuscripts, teaching tools, and more are included. |
American History in Video  | Dates: varies | | About | | Streaming video (e.g., newsreels, public affairs footage, documentaries) of historical events and figures. Includes titles from The History Channel, A&E's Biography, United News (government newsreels), Universal Newsreel, PBS, Bullfrog Films, and more. |
Black Thought & Culture  | Dates: varies | | About | | Full text of numerous non-fiction published works (essays, letters, journals, speeches, interviews) of leading African Americans. |
HeritageQuest Online  | Dates: 1700s - present | | About | | A collection of searchable databases for genealogy and local history (cities, towns, regions) research. Includes access to federal census data and images (1790-1930), full text to over 20,000 books, and more. |
| ArchiveGrid | Dates: n/a | | About | | Description, location, and links to organizations that hold the historical documents, personal papers, and family histories contained in this database. |
Historical Statistics of the U.S.  | Dates: Varies (1790 - present) | | About | | Compilation of the most important economic, social, and political statistics from the Statistical Abstracts of the U.S., extending as far back as the Colonial period (1790+). Over 2100 tables, graphs, and timelines are included, along with essays that discuss historical context. Tables can be customized and downloaded for further analysis. |
Early English Books Online  | Dates: 1473 - early 1700s | | About | | Full text (scanned images) of over 100,000 historically significant titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue, Wing’s Short-Title Catalogue, Thomason Tracts, and English Books Tract Supplement. Works by Shakespeare, Bacon, Chaucer, Galileo, Newton are included, as are acts of the English Parliament, pamphlets and sermons from the Church of England, auction catalogs and more. Advanced navigational features allow you to zoom, re-center, and download page images (TIFF). |
19th Century British Pamphlets  | Dates: 19th century | | About | | Full text of more than 20,000 of the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century are grouped into seven collections from UK research libraries. Individual collections can be browsed or searched. |
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition  | Dates: 1982 - present | | About | | Comprehensive full text database (1994 forward, with indexing back to 1982) encompassing the following databases: Applied Science & Technology, Art, Biological & Agricultural, Business, Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, Social Sciences, Legal Periodicals, Library Literature. Search all at once or select specific databases.
Click here for in-depth descriptions of individual databases. |
Southern Life  | Dates: n/a | | About | | Articles are directly related to Southern living, past and present, including people, places, historical events, and more. |
| Arts and Humanities Search | Dates: 1980 - present | Title List | | About | | Index to articles from over 1,100 journals covering arts and humanities, including music, theater, philosophy, religion, art, various media, linguistics, literature, poetry, and history. |
If you don't find the resources you need, please
check our Multisubject Databases list, or contact
the Reference Desk at 423-425-4510. |