Please enter your UTCID and password when prompted to do so. This lets Google Scholar know that you’re part of the UTC community so that you’ll see the “Full Text-UTC TextLinker” links with your search results (What is TextLinker?).
If you're off-campus and are not a UTC student or employee, you can freely search Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com, but you will not see the “Full Text-UTC TextLinker” links (What is TextLinker?).
On campus:
What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. Our advice is not to buy any articles online until you check with a librarian to see whether we already own the item or can get it through interlibrary loan.
Limitations of Google Scholar
Google Scholar’s linking is still imperfect. You may have papers listed without the “Full Text - UTC TextLinker” link when in actuality we do have the full text available. Our advice is not to buy any articles online until you check with a librarian to see whether we already own the item or can get it through interlibrary loan.
Google Scholar is in beta test mode. Results may be erratic or inconsistent at times.
Because Google Scholar attempts to index gray literature and preprints, your results may include papers that have since been superseded by a more recent version. There will be nothing to indicate this, so you should be cautious about using items not published in journals.
Google Scholar does not provide any way to sort results.
Google Scholar does not provide a list of sources or the dates of coverage from a source.
Google Scholar indexing is incomplete.
Google Scholar citation searching (using the “Cited by” link) only lists those sources already indexed in Google Scholar. This may not (and is probably not) a complete list at this point in time.
How do I get the full text of articles I find in Google Scholar?
What is TextLinker?
Click on this link - Full Text-UTC TextLinker - to get the full text of an article you find in Google Scholar. Google Scholar can’t always tell accurately whether or not UTC Lupton Library owns the full text of an item. So if you find an article you want but the full text link isn’t shown, don’t give up! Our reference librarians can find the article for you. Call 423-425-4510, or send your request via http://www.lib.utc.edu/forms/contact_us.html
I can’t find what I want. What should I do?
1. If you are off campus, first be sure that you’ve accessed Google Scholar from the Library’s databases page (http://www.lib.utc.edu/databases).
2. Ask a reference librarian to help you find the full text of your article.
Ask in person at the Reference Desk on the first floor of Lupton Library.
3. Our advice is not to buy any articles online until you check with a librarian to see whether we already own the item or can get it through interlibrary loan.
How are articles ranked?
Google Scholar orders your search results by relevance. Google ranking technology considers the full text of each article, the author, the publication in which the article appeared, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature.
This means that you may not get the newest results first, and the articles may not be in date order. If your professor has given you limits for the articles you can use, pay close attention to the results!